NOTICE: Visit our new blog at www.thehighup.com!

Hangover II Makes the Cut!

There is only one word I can use to describe this movie…amped!!

When I learned that Warner Bros was making a sequel to “The Hangover” I was both excited and nervous. I was excited because I thoroughly enjoyed the first movie and all of the craziness of the Bachelor night antics. I was nervous because I just did not see how the sequel was going to measure up to the first. Then I learned that the movie was set in Thailand and I immediately knew our “Wolfpack” friends were in for a ride of epic proportion.

Having spent 7 months living in Thailand myself, I know from personal experience that EVERY moment is exponentially multiplied in “The Land of Smiles.” The fun you have is amped up, the danger you are in is amped, the emotions you feel are amped…being in Bangkok is like being on narcotics. I must say The Hangover 2 did not disappoint in showcasing the Thailand experience.  It was like the first movie but on a whole other level.

The ensemble cast of characters calling themselves the “Wolfpack” (Zack Galifianakis, Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, and Justin Bartha) reprised their roles to perfection.  I laughed from beginning to end from a balanced blend of situational humor and zany lines from Galifianakis’ mentally stunted character Alan.  The situations the guys found themselves were so bizarre and unbelievable that I couldn’t help but envy the night of partying they had.  The cast was joined by “Crystal”, a talented, chain-smoking monkey. It is always a winning formula as long as you include a super talented animal. Ironically, This monkey added some extra realism to the movie. Thanks to the Hangover 2 I now want a pet monkey…as long as it is as awesome as Crystal.

All in all, The Hangover 2 was a step above the first. In fact, there were parts of the movie that I felt they almost went past the line of humor and believability. However, they did an awesome job of controlling the storyline and portrayals of the characters to deliver an excitingly funny adventure amped up on a near lethal dose of what I call “Bangkok spice!”

Two thumbs up and all my other fingers too! See what my fellow ATLiens had to say…

-Michael Barlow for The “HIGH UP”. Video by Justin Patten.

Leave a Reply

